Cidrerie Manoir du Kinkiz

Ebulliometer for the determination of alcohol in spirits

Opening times

  • Monday–Saturday, 9:30 AM–12:30 PM and 2:00 PM–6:30 PM

Tours

  • By pre-booked appointment for groups and during opening hours for individual visitors
  • Free for individual visitors
  • €2.50 per person for groups

Contacts

Hervé Seznec
75, chemin du Kinkiz
Ergué-Armel
29000 Quimper
+33 (0)298 902 057
cidreriemanoirdukinkiz@yahoo.fr
www.kinkiz-terroir.bzh

A bit of history

It all began with Pierre, businessman and arborist at heart, who dreamt of promoting his native region and its ‘terroir’. Pierre followed his dream: he planted trees, created both the Manoir du Kinkiz cider brewery and the Distillerie du Plessis distillery and managed to federate other cider enthusiasts to set up CIDREF, the successful sponsor of the Cornouaille cider PDO (Protected Designations of Origin) and Pommeau de Bretagne AOC.

Raised in the middle of this collective effort to (re)plant apple trees and revive cider-making, Pierre’s son Hervé spent his childhood running through the orchards. The mysteries of brandy ageing fascinated him and he helped endorse and market the Pommeau de Bretagne AOC. But most of all, he learned the age-old traditions behind crafting cider and apple brandy from his elders, the most precious of repositories of traditional cider-making knowledge.

Having inherited the know-how and old family traditions, he has been operating both businesses for the past 23 years with the same drive for rigor and quality that has built the reputation of their products and made a place for them on the best tables in France.

Alcohol abuse is detrimental to your health. Drink responsibly.

Cidrerie Manoir du Kinkiz

Ebulliomètre pour le dosage de l'alcool dans les eaux-de-vie

Un peu d’histoire

Tout a commencé par le rêve de Pierre, commerçant et arboriculteur dans l’âme qui n’avait jamais oublié ce que ce pays doit à sa terre. Alors un jour il donna corps à son idée. Il planta des vergers, créa la Cidrerie Manoir du Kinkiz et la Distillerie du Plessis et réussit à fédérer d’autres passionnés pour initier l’aventure du CIDREF, porteur des projets réussis de l’AOP Cornouaille et du Pommeau de Bretagne AOC.

Son fils Hervé, baigné dans cette ambiance de replantation et de projet collectif, a passé son enfance à courir dans les vergers. Il a été fasciné par les mystères du vieillissement des alcools dans la pénombre des chais et a contribué à la naissance et la commercialisation du Pommeau de Bretagne AOC. Mais surtout, il a appris le métier avec les anciens, ceux qu’il considère comme des aînés porteurs de mémoire.

Héritier d’un savoir-faire et d’une longue tradition familiale, il dirige depuis maintenant 23 ans les deux entreprises avec la même ambition de qualité et de rigueur qui porte la réputation de la maison sur les plus grandes tables de la gastronomie.

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé. À consommer avec modération.